Tag Archives: reviews

Truthseeker by C.E. Murphy — a review

Truth-Seeker1

One of the very first books I bought for my Kindle was C.E. Murphy’s Urban Shaman book. It looked interesting enough, and a coworker was reading another of Murphy’s series at the time, and I love first contact stories. I finished the last book in the Walker Papers a few months ago (waaaaaaah!) and I put off reading more of her books because I like knowing there is still a nice stack waiting for me.

Waited as long as I could. Finally took this one out from the library.

Gifted with an uncanny intuition, Lara Jansen nonetheless thinks there is nothing particularly special about her. All that changes when a handsome but mysterious man enters her quiet Boston tailor shop and reveals himself to be a prince of Faerie. What’s more, Dafydd ap Caerwyn claims that Lara is a truthseeker, a person with the rare talent of being able to tell truth from falsehood. Dafydd begs Lara to help solve his brother’s murder, of which Dafydd himself is the only suspect.

Acting against her practical nature, Lara agrees to step through a window into another world. Caught between bitterly opposed Seelie forces and Dafydd’s secrets, which are as perilous as he is irresistible, Lara finds that her abilities are increasing in unexpected and uncontrollable ways. With the fate of two worlds at stake and a malevolent entity wielding the darkest of magic, Lara and Dafydd will risk everything on a love that may be their salvation—or the most treacherous illusion of all.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~

This book, and it’s follow-up, reminded me that for all that I talk about how I don’t like books that feature elves and/or fairies, I actually do. The sudden intrusion of the supernatural into a seemingly mundane world will always be my favorite set-up — and I’m enjoying that it’s such a popular set up right now.

Lara is used to her annoying little quirk, and so is her best friend Kelly — but whereas Lara has allowed her truth-detected curse to guide her to the background of life and nurtured a desire to be unnoticed, Kelly wants great things for her best friend. Or, a least, good things.

Or, at least, a good date. Which is how Lara comes to Daffyd — pardon me, David’s — attention, in the first place.

Even knowing that Lara is not quite ‘normal’, Lara and her world are normal enough, until Daffyd reveals his true nature and changes everything.

This series is the second series I’ve read in which the author sets things both earthside and in some otherworld, yet this otherworld of Daffyd’s is fresh and new and different. The characters are engaging, and we quickly come to care about the fate of both worlds. I had high expectations going into this book, and Murphy did not disappoint!

Fans of Mark Chadborne, Partricia Briggs, Seanan McGuire, and Richelle Mead might enjoy C.E Murphy’s work.

Love or obsession?

Managed over 1k words for the past two days, despite raging migraines. Very exciting. I watched my writing process for a novel in miniature yesterday: opened the chapter, reread what I’d written the previous day, and watched half of it crumble away into “not how it’s supposed to go” land.

There is no wasted writing. I now know one way for sure that chapter wasn’t supposed to happen. Is this what we tell ourselves in order to keep writing without going (too) nuts? “It’s all practice, it all counts!” Practice, I guess, in letting ourselves be wrong, in being humble enough to keep serving the story and following it, despite its sidetracks and dead-ends.

I go to bed thinking about this project. I wake up thinking about it. I wish I was able to dream about it on command. I keep writing it because I want to read the darn thing and no one else will write it!

I still owe (to whom, exactly?) a number of reviews. This weekend (YAY FRIDAY!!!) I’m roasting chicken, making a Reuben pie, and I may very well tackle that sock…

What are your plans for the weekend?

Why is 5:30am acceptable . . .

and 5am doesn’t seem to be, to my body? I’ve been up since then, have showered, and still the body is all, “mmmrppmphh?”

Haven’t posted in a few days. Have been writing. Still crazy excited tickled over the new book. I’m also starting a new editing project (we’ll call it Jbook#2) and am enjoying that a *ton*. I’m honored of course to be a first reader, but mostly I’m excited to be able to get to see it now rather than having to wait. 🙂

Currently reading: Radical Homemakers and am looking forward to devouring it. I only got it yesterday, and I’m only on the introduction, and so far that’s covering a lot of what I already know, but . . . I can skip prefaces and acknowledgements, but I can’t seem to skip introductions. I’ve also got Winter Moon because I’m tryin go read the Walker Papers stories in order, and I’m just finishing up (today, hopefully, though Radical Homemakers may bump it) Susan Krinard’s Bride of the Wolf. Now that I’m thinking of it, Susan may get her own post at some point. I love her work.

Just finished Womens Work the other day. I owe reviews for about three books now; look for them in the future. 🙂

And, 5am is still wrong.