Currently Reading?

Despite working many, many hours a week (thankfully that will be getting back to normal here in the next week or so) (please, gods), I have been managing to keep at my stack of books that I’m reading these days. The non-fiction reading has slowed way, way down, but I still managed to finish not only Aphrodite’s Tortoise (which I will be reviewing for Eternal Haunted Summer once I can sit and write the darned thing!) but also managed to wrap up Introduction to Roman Religion finally. Not a very meaty book to have taken me that long, but that’s in part due to the fact that the book is very state-focused and I find state-focused material a tad boring. Normally I can soldier on through — usually wanting to have read a book more than makes up for how sleep-inducing the book may actually be. See above, re: overtime.

I’m also reading Daniel Abraham’s Dagger and Coin series. I’m only on the first book, and I actually forgot I was reading it until someone on my FB feed mentioned it — again, pesky overtime! I’m so very glad they did, because I thoroughly have enjoyed what I’ve read so far. I haven’t read any of his material before, yet I slipped seamlessly into the first book of the series. There was none of that awareness that I was reading a new-to-me author that I sometimes get. I love when that happens!

I’m also picking through Aidos: the Psychology and Ethics of Honor and Shame in Ancient Greek Literature and my word, that book! So dense! Such complex sentences! There’s a saturation of word-pretzel-yoga-poses going on, and I simply love it. I’m also about five pages into it . . . I think this one is going to be slow going.

That’s my book pile right now. What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

