So, I’m doing this block party thing . . .

I’ve never been one for block parties in meatlife, but I imagine I’ve never been to the right kind of block parties. Can you imagine a block party hosted by and comprised of writers? Okay, sure, we’re just like other people, running the gamut from wild extroverts to quiet introverts, but in my writerly block party fantasy there are pockets of cafe tables and steaming mugs of tea and cocoa and wine, stacks of books, and notebooks, both electric and paper, scattered here and there, people invariably talking shop or writing or reading or discussing their latest discovery. So, I suppose that’s less block party and more a day at the office, but it’s my fantasy, so deal with it.

I discovered this Indie Block Party thanks, of course, to Juli D. Revezzo, networking extraordinaire, and promptly signed up. And, if you’ve read my previous entry, had a houseguest and promptly forgot about this commitment. Remembered (or was reminded, thanks to discovering why I hadn’t gotten the emails I was due to get about said party — helps if you check the correct email account, aye?) in the nick of time, and here we are.

One thing that is being confirmed as I consider the upcoming posting schedule, including the topic of introducing ones’ self, is that I really dislike writing about myself in this manner. I’m already hemming and hawing and wanting to jump into the next posts. I don’t want to write about me. I am boring, so far as subject matter goes. I’d much rather talk about this new character I’ve met, or the story I’ve just sold, or this WiP I’ve got going on . . .

I’ve been writing about forever. I was the one in my English classes who had word maximums rather than minimums on my writing assignments. For a long time it was how I was able to process things going on in my life, and writing things out — in fiction, in thinly disguised fiction that isn’t, in journalling — is a big way that I process stuff. Writing is how I hold on the wonder of life during the ups and, more importantly, the downs. I struggle with writing — I want to be more disciplined about getting material produced, there are so many stories and not nearly enough years in which to write them! — but I am at heart person who goes through phases. Knitting phases, reading all the fantasy phases, reading all the nonfiction phases, delving into spirituality or yoga or this other thing here. I’m finally, at nearly five and thirty, growing comfortable with that, but I am not comfortable with than in regard to writing. If I am in a novel-writing phase and then a short story phase, that’s acceptable, and that’s what I’m aiming for, lately. This blog was started, in part, so I could see my progress, so I could notice trends as they occur and repeat. I think novel-writing and then short story writing is a way to go, if i could just keep with the writing. And, save for a two week vacation this month, I have been.

When I’m not writing I am generally snuggled up with a book or the Kindle, Master Corbie and some of the cats. If Beth is spinning, I’m often reading aloud to her and those gathered for story-time. (This week we’ve started rereading A Game of Thrones. All those names I’ve never had to say out loud! And I can’t wait to re-meet Tyrion, one of my first crushes in fantasy. Ah, I love the Imp, even if they’ve made him pretty!) If I’m in a knitting phase, I’m knitting. I’m your typical bookworm, and I rather love it. Now and again I do get outside and hike around.

This week, and next week too, when I’m not writing, you’ll find me working on these blog posts, so stay tuned! And check out others participating in the block/g party!

22 thoughts on “So, I’m doing this block party thing . . .

  1. Maria Staal

    Hi Jolene, nice to meet you at the Indie Block Party!
    Writing about yourself is indeed difficult, but think about tomorrow. Then you can talk about your book! 🙂
    Have a great party!
    Maria

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Likewise! I can’t wait until my days off so that I have time to check out everyone’s blog for this thing. There are not enough hours in the day!

      Reply
  2. Elaine

    Hello Jolene. So that was you in class too with the word maximum! Have fun with your Game of Thrones read. Will we be able to see some of your knitting work?

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Hi Elaine! I have a few photos kicking around of knitting projects on here already — maybe just the one of the sock that never was. I mostly do wash cloths at this point, so I don’t really post them? I’m sort of embarassed, but mostly they’re, you know. Square and boring. Though I *am* starting a sweater, next weekend. Need the yarn! I’ll post that progress as I go. Are you on Ravelry? I’ve got more photos over there, though not much.

      Reply
      1. Elaine

        Nothing is boring when your crafty. I have friends that knit but have never gotten the hang of it, so I find it an interesting curiosity. Yarn plus needles plus skill and you get real beautiful things!

        Good luck with the new sweater.
        I’ll see if I can poke around on Ravelry.

  3. Court Young (@courtney825)

    Hiya Jolene! It’s very nice to meet you! Talking about ourselves can somewhat be a daunting task. I always hated standing up in class because I felt like whatever I said would be extremely boring. But honestly, all of those little things make up who you are anyway (kindles, good books, and WIP)! Right? 🙂 Happy you joined the Indie Block Party! 🙂 Looking forward to your upcoming posts!

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Aw, thanks! And yeah, it’s a silly thing, because I like listening/reading people talking about themselves, and I bet half of them feel as dull as I feel when I’m talking about me. Because, it’s just *me*. But it’s every day me for me, and not every day me for other people. Still, the blank page awaiting the “about self” bit is the ONLY blank page I’ve ever sweated over!

      Reply
  4. Millie Burns

    So nice to meet you. I think all of your “borings” sound just about right! I haven’t read the Game of Thrones books, but I’ve been watching. Seems like I might need to read them. Looking forward to future posts!

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      I’d suggest reading them! I’ve read the first three books . . . oh, I don’t know. A time or four. Only read the fourth book once, haven’t read the fifth. I’ve only seen the 1st season of the show, though I liked it well enough even if they made Tyrion pretty!!! even if they took some liberties. Like with any book to screen adaptation, things are lost in the translation. On the other hand, there is a lot less wait between series than there are between book releases, so there’s that to consider. (Damn you GRRM!) Though I suppose the pressure is on, now that the shows going . . .

      Reply
      1. Millie Burns

        I’m almost afraid to read the books, because the shows are never even close to how awesome the books are…and I’ll enter the books tainted with mental images that won’t match the written word!!!! Oh bother, I’ll have to risk it : )

  5. Linda Hamonou

    Oh my god, I’m going through phases too, I’m glad to know I’m not alone.
    It’s actually the first time someone is formulating that out in front of me.
    I know the feeling of wanting to do more of something while you are at something else and feeling guilty about not writing when I want to play music or something.
    Nice to meet you. 😀

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      YAY PHASES! I’m annoyed at myself that I’m only finally getting to accept that this is just the way I am. Trying to change that stifles me so very much. I will spend all my free time for days, weeks, knitting like mad . . . and then not touch it again for months. Working on making the writing not be like that, and I think I’ve finally, finally, _finally_ gotten my way worked out. Phew. Can’t let the other interests whither. I used to be upset that I wasn’t a “write and forget to eat and forget the world” impassioned writer, but I’m not. And that works.

      Reply
      1. Linda Hamonou (@crazypuce)

        I’m lucky to have a boyfriend to keep me fed I have to say… I tend to forget the day of the week, with writing and other things. The forever “I won’t move until it’s finished” crisis, it works, sometimes.

  6. Pingback: Paul Christopher Hoppe, Writer | Paul C. Hoppe

Leave a Reply

