Winter Moon: a book review

(We are writing last week off entirely, due to migraines. Last week does not count. I want a do-over)

I have this thing wherein I prefer to read books in order. Now, it’s not that big of a deal with, say, Faye Kellerman’s Decker series or your typical romance series where the books are loosely connected and the Big Bad isn’t all that sophisticated because the point is the relationships not the Big Bad and they cover most of the essentials in back-story-ing in the current book to remind you anyway. I still prefer to read in order, though, because otherwise you miss the nuances that you can only catch by watching interplay as it happens. (re: about me — voyeur)

So, when I read Coyote Dreams, the third book in the Walker Papers series, and realized there was an important story that came before it that I missed, I had to fix it.

Happily, once again our public library rocks and came to my rescue.

This collection consists of three stories: Moontide by Mercedes Lackey; The Heart of the Moon by Tanith Lee; Banshee Cries by C.E. Murphy.

I knew going in that I was going to enjoy Murphy’s contribution, and I wasn’t wrong. It was exactly what I expected and it gave us a good dose of information regarding Jo, the circumstances around her birth, her special talents, and her character. This is not really written as a story to skip, and I’m glad I was able to find it and read it. I really, really love this world of Murphy’s.

I can’t say I’ve ever read anything beyond shorter works by Tanith Lee — hers was one of my favorite stories in the Teeth anthology awhile back, so I can’t really be all that surprised that I adored her contribution. It came across all very quasi-Roman, except not, with a believable bit of theism unique to the world and storyscape that I enjoyed a lot. Once again, I’m left wondering why I haven’t yet sought out her longer works.

And then we come to Lackey’s story, Moontide. Now, I’ve read her work before. Not a lot of it — mostly some of the Elemental Powers books, because, well, I forget that I like her writing. In fact, in my head, there’s a “meh, I didn’t really care for it,” connection because way back when I first starting reading fantasy, I tried her Oathbound duology and did not enjoy it. I did not enjoy it so much that it was the first time I ever decided to not bother finishing a series.

Except, it’s all wrong, because I adore the Elemental books when I read them. I love her world building, I love the texture, I love the lushness, I love the material. I’m not usually big into Western Mysticism and Esoterica, and the turn of the previous century is not my favorite time period, but I love these books.

Moontide is not set in that series. Moontide is set in her Five Hundred Kingdoms series. I decided, once I finished, that I would rush out and get the first book in that series (yay public library!) Instead, I’ve been getting caught up with the Elemental series. Oops!

Winter Moon was a great read, with three very different but very well written stories by some amazing talent! Good, good stuff.

3 thoughts on “Winter Moon: a book review

  1. J.D.

    I hate when writers do that. I get it, I totally do, but dude, sometimes the short connector stories are totally hard to get hold of! (I’m still trying to get a few by Kim Harrison).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

