Onward!

This week has been a great reminder of why I need to go slowly and gently at times. As of yet (possibly as of never) I do not support myself with my writing; therefore, I need to take care of myself so that I may continue to support myself and be able to also have time left over to write. I’ve been mentally driving myself batty this week/these last two weeks. My brain chemistry is not entirely reliable and my emotions are often suspect, and most of the time that’s okay. And then I slip into the mindset if I would just suck it up and deal and move on, life would be better.

Except, there are some things I can’t just suck up. There are some things that don’t require pulling on my big girl breeches so much as they require me just weathering until the storm (real or imagined) passes and equilibrium can be re-established.

It’s been that sort of week. And even then I’ve managed to get 2k words done on the new novel, write a few posts for the Pagan Blog Project over at the other blog, and make progress on my editing job. YAY!

Today we went to the local library. Instead of telling you about the books in my TBR pile, I figured I’d show you.

Food and home-making books I'm reading or in the TBR pile

And this is the whole stack, minus the e-books:

And this, dear readers, is the dog:

basking in the two seconds of sunlight we receive during winter . . .

These are good things. Happy things. I will look at these things and ignore the evil voice in my head that says all is for naught and I will continue with what I love doing.

10 thoughts on “Onward!

  1. Dani

    Indeed (to Beth’s comment). And yes, you should definitely continue on with what you love doing. In fact! I am continuing on with what you love doing. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m on story #2 right now… I can’t remember the name and it’s not right next to me, but the changeling story. I’m loving it, and I’m not just saying that, I really love this story. I was pleasantly surprised by the first story (I will learn their names, I promise). I wasn’t expecting the abstract style and really enjoyed how it all came together. Anyways, you are very good at what you love doing, which is a pretty special thing. So don’t stop. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      It’s gonna be funny — the order the stories are in is *not* the order they lived in for most of the two years I was working on the book, so my brain sorta did, “buhh??” But, yes! The first story was not at all like my normal stuff and I am so thrilled with it. So thrilled, in fact, that I’m tempted to say it’s my favorite in the collection. Of course, I’m tempted to say that with each one, so . . . yeah. hee, you’re reading my book!

      Reply
      1. Dani

        *** WARNING: Mild spoilers ***
        Yup, I am TOTALLY reading your book. lol This time I even have it right next to me. So! I’ve read Those Who Guard, Best Friends, The Elk Prince, When the Hills Come Courting and Bramble Girl, so far. So yeah, Those That Guard, very pleasant surprise as the opening story. I think you succeed in catching the reader’s attention with it and creating anticipation for the rest of the book, at least it worked with me!
        Best Friends is still my favorite so far. I love Chico, he’s my favorite character in that story and makes me want to research what a Cadejo is, in fact Wikipedia is already open in another tab. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh, and I cheered when the other Cougars showed up. That was awesome.
        Finally! Bramble Girl… yeah… SUPER intrigued with her. That combination of utter ruthlessness combined with child-like innocence? I really hope we get to read more about her some time in the future… *wink*wink*nudge*nudge* ;-D

      2. Jolene Post author

        So, heh. Have to go complete fan-girl and admit that part of the inspiration for “Best Friends” came from — well. Longer version of the story: it’s all about Corbie and Heidi-Leona. They were best friends and loved to careen around the house and turn tables over and bounce off walls. *sigh* Miss her, but I’m also glad she’s gone now that he’s so in need of gentleness, because it would have been awful having her here when he was healing. But, so, ever since I made Beth read Charles De Lint’s Forests of The Heart and she met the cadejos therein, she says she could only picture them as multi-hued Corbie-j dogs. So, we have this whole on-going story about Corbie being a cadejo. Between that and his previous life as a little Hispanic doggie . . . Well, Best Friends sorta bloomed.

        Of the collection, the stories that I know continue and will likely be in a second collection are Bramble Girl and the title story. Does that help?

      3. Dani

        Completely random… I just thought of Tony from the Guild (back in the day) – “Ruthless!” lolol Do you remember that? Silly.

      4. Jolene Post author

        It is extremely funny — I was thinking about him the other day. Silly silly people. Er. I mean, we were all of us utterly sane.

      5. Dani

        Yes, yes… that does indeed help. I’m reading the title story now. Keti (kitty-kitty!) is pretty awesome. Yes, I’m glad to hear that those two stories will be continued at some point. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

