So, I’m reading . . .

Human Sacrifice in Ancient Greece for fun, because that’s how I roll. Now, I’m interested in ancient Greece. I’m certainly interested in time periods that can be lumped into the Late Stone Age and Iron Age — people were fascinating. (My real favorite is the time period when human species over-lapped, but beggars can’t be chosers) The subject of human sacrifice and ritual cannibalism (did they do it, is there proof, what do the experts think and why) is fascinating. Gory, maybe, but fascinating. . .

. . . . only he made it boring. How can human sacrifice be boring???

I’ve set it down and moved on to Womens Work instead.

5 thoughts on “So, I’m reading . . .

  1. lykeiaofapollon

    A good history writer can make anything interesting if they put the right spin on it, but piles of dry boring facts is just that…duller than an 100 year rusty old knife. Or in this case… a couple thousand year old rusty old knife lol.
    I hope Women’s Work turns out to be a better read!

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      I’m not sure I’d consider it all that dry. I mean, he’s got nothing on Edred Thorsson (who makes Vikings boring) but it . . . I dunno. I’ll give it another go later on, but there’s not nearly enough Poseidon or Minoan to make me interested in getting through it right now.

      Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      My point exactly! Taken separately, these are both fascinating concepts. Together they should be fascinating to the tenth power. Instead, not so much.

      Reply
  2. Soli

    Considering the amount of writers out there who can make sex boring, this doesn’t surprise me.

    Can’t wait to hear how Women’s Work turns out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

