Book Review: Teeth

For our next review, I bring you: Teeth an anthology edited by that fabulous team Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, with contributions from such genre heavyweights as Neil Gaiman, Melissa Marr, Holly Black, Catherynne M. Valente, and Tanith Lee. (Hey, they’re heavyweights for me, okay?) It’s pretty much assured to be a great book, right?

Right! The stories range from dark and somber to lighter and less serious. There are serious tales, and less serious tales, and some haunting poetry. My favorite stories were the stark stories. And, because it’s a compilation of different authors, it means you get to discover some you might never have read otherwise. I found that my favorite stories in this collection were written by people I’d never heard of. This is why Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling are amazing. Well, part of why. There were a few that were down right disturbing, and it was so wonderful to come away from a vampire story disturbed. They are supposed to be disturbing, at least some of the time.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Teeth

  1. Lyra Rose

    Oh, I love Neil Gaiman and Holly Black!! They are two of my favorites 😀 This sounds like a book I need to look for~

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Be warned: Gaiman’s contribution was a poem. As a one who does not love reading poems, I felt cheated with that. Poems are generally too short these days, like an earlier version of flash fiction, and they’re just not my cup of tea.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Winter Moon: a book review « The Saturated Page

Leave a Reply

