On Freedom and Fiber

. . . also testing some things . . .

The dog has the official okay from the vet to go about resuming normal activity including freedom of the house. His favorite toys have not been cleared (he is a hunt, seize, kill, and toss dog) and Beth and I have agreed that he’s going to keep sleeping in the kennel at night (between our beds, so it’s not like he’s going to be booted from the bedroom). Mostly because he chooses to sleep with me (I am the bee’s knees) and I’m a tosser. It’s not safe. I don’t want a repeat of this if we can avoid it.

Having the vet come to the house makes all the difference in the world. We adore her. We went on a celebratory walk after they left the house and they were still getting the van togther, and Corbie wanted to go with them. He was all excited. So much better than cowering and wanting to get away. Absolutely adore them.

I’ve slacked the day away (finishing up Prayers for the Dead and Abandon)instead of fixing my page numbers and getting that uploaded again. I will — my deadline is next Saturday, after all, and it’s the last step I have to do besides the cover work. I’ve started the next book already — just poking at it, nothing serious yet — but I’m excited about it. (As well as the books waiting for me to be read after I finish September Edits. I’m up to THREE carrots now)

I’m also excited about Beth’s new blog: Fensalir Fiber which is to showcase her fabulous handspun creations and other fiber goodies! Do check it out, if for no other reason than to admire the colors! (And be envious of me for I get to touch this stuff!)

It’s been a nice, low-key weekend. Having the dog free means I can resume my writing schedule without having to worry about waking him up. He can resume his post under my feet at the desk at five am, now. Part protector (no, don’t laugh) part hero-dog, part muse. He’s pretty awesome.

2 thoughts on “On Freedom and Fiber

  1. H.E. ELLIS

    I checked out the blog and it really seems very well put together. I understand completely about spinning being a lost art. I don’t spin but I love to take old hand tools and do work in the yard. My kids pick on me about it all the time, saying that we have chain saws and power mowers. I can’t help it, to me there’s nothing like taking a hundred year-old handsaw to trim back lilacs or sharpen the blades off a hand push mower. It’s better therapy than a shrink.

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Ooooooh, lilacs . . . One thing I love about living here is that the lilac season is typically three to four weeks long, as opposed to the blink-and-they’re-burnt season in Mass. (If only they’d bloom twice like the magnolias and madrones!) At the place we were renting before we were able to buy a manual mower, and I quite loved that. We’re stuck with an electric beast for the moment at the new place, but I have dreams of turning our lawn into garden anyway so it’ll be a moot point.

      There’s something to be said for tools that have been around longer than 6mos to a year, back when we wanted things to *last* and would thus take care of said things.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

