Currently Reading

We are exploring the art of reading out loud at our house, currently, and it’s quite fun. A few months back we started listening to The Mistress of the Art of Death on CD and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Today, without having anything to listen to and a pile of spinning to get through (and a convalescing canine with separation anxiety on enforced cage-rest to keep entertained who believes I am The Best Thing Ever) I started reading Reckless by Cornelia Funke. I am a horrible reader; I’m a horrible speaker. I am naturally a speed-talker and talking slowly causes me to stumble over words. I’m also originally from Massachusetts, which causes me to ignore R’s when I choose and to insert R’s into words they don’t belong in. (R’s are horrible. When reciting the alphabet, Massachusetts folk, especially in the eastern part of the state, are likely to say, “cue aah ess”. For real.) Reckless, however, entertains Beth while she dukes it out with the wheel, entertain our convalesing pooch, and passes away a hot muggy Sunday. If you haven’t read any of Funke’s work by now (Inkheart is likely the most recognized title at this point) you really ought to correct that. Very good stuff.

This morning I also read Holly Black’s The Good Neighbors novel. Holly Black’s writing tends to be stuff I forget how much I enjoy when I’m not reading it. I’ll admit that I have a hard time, in my mind, separating her Modern Faerie Tale trio from Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely books, mostly because I read the first of each roughly around the same time. That said, I generally come away from Black’s work excited abou what I’ve read and confused as to how I could have forgotten how much I enjoy her work. This was no different. I gobbled them up in under an hour, and then reread parts of them. Typically I shy away from graphic novels just because I tend to want meatier stories, but these were just about perfect.

Last night I treated myself to a comfort reread of The Hob’s Bargain which was the first book of Patricia Briggs’ I’d ever read, and that was nice. And, to toss in the oddball books, I’m also picking my way through Extinct Humans and House Thinking because these are the things I read for fun.

What books are you currently loving right now?

7 thoughts on “Currently Reading

  1. H.E. Ellis

    Even though I’m not one for dystopian fiction my best friend’s daughter insisted I read THE HUNGER GAMES. I’m so glad I did. I’ve finally moved onto MOCKINGJAY and love it.

    Being from New Hampshire I completely understand the “r” tripping you up. Not to worry, everyone knows we’re wicked smaht.

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      I so very much already responded to this post (look, I found the neat ‘manage comments’ section of wordpress, yay! I can see them all at once, wohooo!!) yesterday, but it looks as if something went horribly wrong before it actually posted, and so here I am once more. I’ve a friend who recommended ‘The Hunger Games’ before she read the rest and then un-recommended them. I may peek at the first book, just to see. I don’t typically go for that sort of book unless there is a supernatural or religious theme also to be found (and something a little more original than the religious people are the freaks/weirdos/bad guys, please) except sometimes it can be fun. Er, if society is totally messed up can be fun. Which, it can? Hrm. Wicked smaht! Wicked is one of the words I’ve held on to. And the ‘id’ endings of words that actually end in ‘ard’.

      Reply
  2. Beth

    Well, besides having Reckless read to me by my awesome partner while I spin
    (no longer duking it out with Wheelie, fortunately!), I’ve been nibbling at The Alden Amos Big Book of Handspinning, which is pretty much what it says. Lots of mathematical stuff about twist and grist, but also a lot of fascinating snippets of information on all facets of spinning, served up with a dollop of dry humor. And recipes for ginger beer and flax crackers!

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      I almost want to read that book, but I may not need to with your reading bits and pieces out to me! Which works, because I’ve got a lot of reading on my plate right now. 😉

      Reply
  3. Aj / Melia

    I just recently finished reading Ovid’s Metamorphoses. I have started Shadowfever by Karen Moning but haven’t the time to devote to it recently. I have also started Anointed(Devotional anthology for Middle Eastern deities) and an old vampire themed book of short stories that I picked up used somewhere.

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Karen Moning is one of the many writers whose works I keep seeing and keep almost picking up and keep not quite picking up. I may need to fix that at some point. How’s Anointed so far?

      Reply
  4. Aj / Melia

    Anointed is…I don’t know. I’m only about half way through it. Being a devotee of Zeus, not much of the information in this book does much for me so far though there have been a few ideas that I might add to my practice. For the most part, I feel like I’m reading things out of context so I can’t quite make heads or tales of the items within…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

