My First Post . . .

. . . in which I repeat by ‘About’ page a little, babble a little, and hopefully only bore you a little . . .

Between you and me, this feels awfully pretentious. That aside: welcome to my blog! Over on my blogroll sidebar you’ll see the names of some of my favorite writers. That’s just a start; I’m sure it’ll grow, for I have many. If you’ve already read any of my stuff, and you’re familiar with Charles De Lint’s work, you will have undoubtedly noticed his influence in my work. I discovered his writing back when most of his earlier works were out of print (and spent a fortune getting my hands on them . . and then, heh, they got reprinted, of course). His work is not, however, the only writing that I find nourishing. If you haven’t checked out any of those listed authors already, do so! You won’t be sorry.

Much to my dismay, I am not as of yet a fulltime writer. I have a fulltime job which, along with my partner’s fulltime job, helps to keep us sheltered, fed, and our critters safe and sound. Besides writing, I knit and dabble in spinning, practice yoga, and spend oodles of time with our cats and dog. Nevertheless, I do have one book I’m currently shopping around, another book in progress, and too many stories in my head to ever stop writing. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. (Which I remind myself at 3am when they won’t let me sleep. Yes, them. You know who ‘they’ are.)

Tentatively scheduled for an October release date is my newest collection of short stories, The Fairy Queen of Spencer’s Butte and Other Tales, thirteen tales inspired by and/or set around Eugene, Oregon, and its surrounding environs. I am deeply in love with this city, and this volume is my thanks to the city for the inspiration its given me. Eugene is a quirky place, something between a large town and a big city. We have a fairly large ‘alternative’ subculture, and a whole lot of ‘normal’ folks, too, and a whole heaping amount of local pride. This, I think, is not a bad thing. It is good to be engaged with one’s place.

I’m not sure how well The Fairy Queen will be received. It’s being self-published due to its relatively small appeal (most people don’t know who I am or what I write; most people don’t care about Eugene; who would want to publish this?) though I’ve got plans on pushing it locally . . .and there will be a give-away in the future, once it’s out, so do stay tuned! Despite being unsure about its success, I’m extremely excited to see it go live.

6 thoughts on “My First Post . . .

  1. H.E. Ellis

    Well push away here in New Hampshire! I’m self-published too, so I get how hard it is. Let me know when it comes out officially and I’ll tell all my fellow Red Sox fans out here about it.

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Self-published does not look as . . . small? sad? Something? as it did just a few years ago, apparently. I really have poked around the self-pubbed world at all since I put out ‘Treasures’, and that was *such* a small market I really didn’t look at it at all, honestly. Loads of folks seem to be going right to it, these days. Which is good, I think. I hope. (And still I feel defensive. ‘No, I’m self-publishing because . . . and someday i’ll be a *real* writer because’ . . .. argh.That’s stupid.)

      Reply
  2. Beth

    Woohoo!! Yay new blog!!

    I won’t be surprised at all if the Fairy Queen does quite well locally; Eugenians are quite taken with their our little city, and I think this may be right up their alley.

    Reply
  3. Nykti

    I think it’s awesome that you’re writing fiction that’s set in the area you live in. I love reading things like that. 🙂 As far as I’m aware, there are only a handful of books that are set in Winnipeg, but not along the lines of your book. Still, awesome. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      It’s working out sort of neat. In the course of writing this collection I’ve also gained two longer novella/novel ideas as well, and the short stories keep coming faster than I can write them down. I haven’t set out to make sure all my writing takes place *here*, but neither am I going to stop it if that’s how it happens. I lovelovelove the human-and-other crossroads, and I don’t think I’ll ever tire of writing that sort of thing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

