Story Subscription Details!

There has been enough interest in this that I’m going to do it! (Really, one person being interested in this would be enough. You guys. You. Guys.) Suddenly, imminent dental work is less scary. You. Rock.

What is the Story Subscription?

It’s basically that. I’m offering a pay what you wish, with a minimum of $5, and in exchange, you receive a previously unpublished short story or story installment of no less than 4,000 words. I am not looking for more than $5 for each installation but because a number of people have suggested they’d be willing to pay more than that, I’m leaving that option open.

edited to add Because people are both opting to pay for multiple installments up front and also opting to pay more than $5 for one installment, please specify when buying multiple installments at once, otherwise I’m going to assume the latter. Thank you!

How does it work?

If you’re interested in joining, you will simply send whatever it is you are paying via paypal (bluedolfyn at yahoo dot com). Include a note which format you would prefer (for Kindle, for Nook, or text-in-email) and where I should send the file.

Please bear in mind this is an experiment for me. As of right now, I’m offering three options for delivery: .epub, .mobi, or text in the body of an email. I’ve never been on the sending end of a newsletter, so I may be wrong, but plain text in an email seems to be what those are. Since I don’t know if I can restrict signing up to people who have paid (and since it’s going to maybe change every month, depending on who wants to participate in any given month) I’m thinking that I’m just going to send emails out individually rather than doing an actual email subscription list. Bear in mind, also, that I’m working full time and in the next six weeks, aside from one week wherein I’m having the teeth pulled, I’m working over time. And learning .mobi and .epub formatting. So learning fancy ways around newsletter applications are a bit more than I can handle, especially since I don’t think they’re going to be able to do what I want them to do.

When do I receive the story?

This is going live July 1st, which means if you’re interested, you have until the end of June to get in on the action. Remember, some of these are going to be story installments, and to make learning the formatting while having dental work done easier for me, I’ll let you know right up front that the first few months are going to indeed be installments of the same story.

But, there’s more!

Having a tiered perk system was suggested by a few people, and you know, I think that’s a great idea! So, to that end, you could also:

Name a Character
For $25 you get to name a main character in a story.

Name That Plot!
Is there a story you want to see written but don’t want to write it yourself? For $50, you can name that plot! The caveat here is, I’m not open to writing explicit sex scenes or graphic violence, so I reserve the right to turn down a commission. Also, the story cannot be about real people.

Bundles are Coming!
It will require major reformatting on my end, and I’m hoping that with Calibre under my belt it’ll be less intimidating. In the future I will offer a $75 package, wherein you’ll get to name a character, name the plot, and receive either a Kindle or Nook edition of The Fairy Queen of Spencer’s Butte and Other Tales, as well as a $100 package, wherein you get those three things and an autographed hard copy of The Fairy Queen of Spencer’s Butte and Other Tales. Stay tuned for those!

4 thoughts on “Story Subscription Details!

  1. Pingback: Reminder: Story Subscription goes live July 1st! | The Saturated Page

  2. Pingback: So, I still don’t have a name I like for the story subscription project . . . | The Saturated Page

Leave a Reply

