I have a proposal, and I need your input!

Yesterday I got a new, surprise dental estimate for work that really needs to get done, and I’m staggered. This new bill is going to give us roughly $37 of wiggle room left, on a monthly basis, for the next year and a half. This is scaring the bejezus out of me.

I’m thinking I’m going to offer a monthly short story to people who sign up/and or pay on a monthly basis. I’m putting out feelers for this, because I have no idea what shape that should take. However much work I have to do towards formatting takes away from actual writing time, so — Nook and Kindle formatted files sent to email? (in which case I would beg forgiveness for the first however many installments as I learn my way around the process) Create a newsletter type thing and put the work on there? Do I include cover art (more time on not writing, and it would be basic art at best)?

If you were going to receive an at least 4,000 word story or series installment from me on a monthly basis, would you be willing to pay $5? $10? Would you want it formatted for your e-reader? Would not having a cover be acceptable? Would people even be interested (as in, interested in the next month?). I can’t think of any other way to ask for payments other than via paypal, so I’m thinking it would be a “pay by X date, receive story by Y date” sort of deal. I’m tempted to say $10, so that even if there’s only three or four people interested, it’s going to go a long way toward that new fangled bill, but $5 seems more reasonable. Heh, before today I would have said yes to $5 myself, but $10 would be a more ‘let’s see on a monthly basis.’

Thoughts? Suggestions? Takers?

16 thoughts on “I have a proposal, and I need your input!

  1. Red

    Have you looked in to getting a Care Credit card? It has saved my ass on more than one occasion and you can also use it on vet visits.

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Thanks for the suggestion! I haven’t looked into it beyond knowing it exists, as I was able to get on a similar type card with this work, and it’s spread out over time, too. Though, being able to use Care Credit on vet bills is quite a plus, come to that. Will have to look into it.

      Reply
  2. Beth

    Reblogged this on Wytch of the North and commented:
    Do you love pagan/fantasy fiction? Would you pay $5 a month to get a brand new story (4,000 words or more) by Jolene Dawe delivered to your in-box every month? (Jo is the author of Treasures from the Deep and The Faery Queen of Spencer’s Butte and Other Tales; her work has also appeared in Eternal Haunted Summer and a number of anthologies). We have a new unexpected monthly dental bill for her that is going to take a huge bite out of our budget, and this is one of her ideas for helping to minimize the impact on our already strained finances. Please help if you can! (And watch this space for a monthly reading subscription plan from me.)

    Reply
  3. Duffi

    I would be able to pay $15; I prefer newsletter style, since the e-reader format is tough for me; & I don’t care about the cover, I just want words!

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Words! I’m not sure now if I’d go with an actual newsletter, or if I’d just send the files out to people manually, who wanted a newsletter. Would that work for you? (I honestly don’t know — am looking into it over next weekend! — how creating an actual newsletter for people to join would work with this sort of subscription set up. Anyone can sign up, but only people who are paying for the material get to see it, so I’m not sure just manually emailing people it wouldn’t make as much sense?)

      Reply
  4. anita

    I could swing $10; however, I don’t have an e-reader, so newsletter format would be best for me.
    (And I feel your pain—I’ve just come from the dentist, and I have to have a bridge replaced. $5,000! which, of course, I don’t have. I hate to ask for help, but . . . Mom!)

    Reply
  5. Stephanie Rivière

    I don’t know if this is helpful at all (depending on how serious the surgery is), but is this a service that can be done at a local university or college that does training for dentistry? Oftentimes they will charge at a cheaper rate (and are also more stickler for “the rules” when it involves going through the processes).

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      This is a great idea in general, and something that’s good to be reminded of, so thank you. But, I’ve had horrid, horrid dentist experiences, and the idea of having students working on me makes me want to curl into a ball and pull all my teeth out instead of having do deal with that, so I think that’s a no go. *lol* There are reasons there’s been nearly two decades between visits.

      Reply
  6. Lesley

    I am going to suggest getting Care Credit as well. I just have $1600 worth of work done and I still need a significant amount of more work. If you spend over $1000, you have 24 months interest free to pay off the debt. Good luck! Dental work is a beast!

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Two votes for Care Credit! I really do need to look into them, because this is just the beginning of the work I need. Thank you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

