On goals, on getting behind, on boundaries.

I’ve learned a lot since beginning this blog. It has
been an invaluable tool to learning my patterns, seeing my limits, discovering what works for me and what doesn’t, discovering what y goals are, in terms of writing.

My goals? Get the stories out. Dare to dream about getting paid to write my books. Get the cycle I go through inverted, so that instead of long periods “refueling” between writing bouts, I have longer writig bouts with less down time in between. Get prolific. Become a prolific writer.

There are so many stories. I can’t write them all, but I need to be writing the ones that I can. I want to. I dare to want to.

Looking back over the past few years, I have to say: I’ve succeeded on inverting that cycle. The Big Goal for 2014 is to get the WiP series done. Written, not necessarily print ready, but with an eye toward publication in 2015. I haven’t failed — I’m 43k into the first novel, and halfway done with it. The second novel is already roughly 1/3 written. Third of the three isn’t even started yet. I’m tempted to say I that I’ve stalled. I haven’t *stalled*. I’ve been working on other stuff.

But this is my reminder: 2014 is for getting this series written. Everything else comes after. Because it matters that much to me, to see this goal met.

I love writing.

I’ve been in a reading glut. Finally gotten around to reading the Valdemar books. I devoured my way through six and seven of the Walker Papers. C.E. Murphy is quickly becoming one of my favorite writers, ever. Reading helps me remember why I love writing.

I love writing.

#

In other news: our dog is now on spendy heart medication. February was an interesting month for us. I’m grateful that writing is such an inexpensive passion to have.

One thought on “On goals, on getting behind, on boundaries.

Leave a Reply

